Recycling

This time of year I ride around with a pitchfork in the back of my truck. What other people consider trash such as pine needles is useful material in the garden. Bagged leaves with a few holes punched in the bag and left to compost for a few months make black gold. When I was a child I used to laugh at a school teacher neighbor of mine who did the same thing. I go organic as much as possible. I compost all my grass clipping and leaves. The power company brings wood chips every fall when they are in the area trimming trees. I compost these and use them for building raised beds around the garden. I make a berm with the chips and where I want to put a plant I’ll dig a hole, put in the plant and fill with some good planting mix. As the chips decompose you can add more as mulch.

If you don’t have room for a compost pile, there are several commercial composting boxes available. I have one on the property line between my house and my Mom’s that we throw in our kitchen scraps. I also have a worm bin in the garage that I discard newspapers and kitchens scraps into. I use the juice produced to fertilize my African violets, orchids and other house plants.

Newspapers make a great weed barrier around plants. Put down several layers and put 3 inches of mulch on top.  The newspapers break down slowly and add organic matter to garden beds attracting beneficial earthworms.

This entry was posted in Blog roll. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

