I knew what I was getting into

Let me first state that I grew up with Border collies on our dairy farm, so I fully under stood what I was getting into.  They have to be constantly doing something.  My mistake was bragging earlier how sweet and well behaved they had become.  They were just letting me get into a false sense of satisfaction that I finally had become the pack leader.  I was re-potting some of my African violets and had my worm compost bin open getting some worm tea and compost to put in the potting mix.  I had dug down to the bottom to get some of the finished compost lacking red wigglers and mixed up the new and old kitchen vegetable scraps and tea and coffee bags uniformly.  Before you say yuck, this black gold costs five dollars for just a couple of pounds and makes great use of kitchen waste.   I left the lid off of the bin when I took one of the plants back in the house.  I received a phone call which delayed my return trip back out to the garage.  Well when I opened the back door I was greeted with red wigglers crawling across the floor among kitchen scraps in various stages of digestion.  After cleaning the garage up, I walked out to the driveway, and behind my Jeep, I was greeted with another pile of compost and red wigglers crawling across the concrete.  While cleaning this up the two of them kept bouncing a tennis ball back and forth wanting me to come and play.   They have been doing something constructive though based on the large number of chewed up field mice they are leaving in the yard.   Since they are rescues, they know who saved them and are very protective, and I guess they are good for keeping me on my toes and my mind sharp.

This entry was posted in Blog roll. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

