THREE TOO MANY DOGS

Woke up early this morning. Two dogs in the front holed up in pine needles, one on the front porch, and another black dog in the garden.  Just what I need is another dog. Well it was very foggy, & I hadn’t had my coffee yet. After two cups of coffee and the sun burned the fog off I realized it was just a pile of rotten chips that looked like a black dog. The loader is really coming in handy and saving a lot of wear and tear on my back which I had surgery on at 21. I just drive up to my bagged stuff and roll it into the bucket, carry to where I need it and dump.  They are now making riding mower sized tractors with front end loaders.  I hauled a lot of composted manure and dug up daylilies that a so called landscaper I hired last winter planted too deep and without planting mix. I separated and replanted after digging in the manure, and composted leaves. Two old large screwdrivers come in handy to separate the fans.  Of course I had help with face & ear licks and pawing, and checking for mice. One irritating trait about Border collies is the pawing at you to get attention. Levi was laying close by chewing on something. I didn’t pay attention to what he had until I saw a reflection. It was a buckle with a little strap of leather in it. I remember back to the time my brother swallowed a buckle that was on one of his shoes and almost choked to death before it was pulled out.  I also replanted an azalea that the dogs had knocked out of the ground earlier in the summer, again due to improper planting by the landscaper. I thought it was dead, but put it in a 3 gallon container and watered it well daily. Eventually it started leaving back out.  After wards I got the mower out and picked up leaves and mulched heavily trying to hide everything from the dogs. They love nothing better than to help me un-plant what I just planted. I was told that they are just trying to get near my scent when I’m not at home.  Winter grasses just starting to come up. I like to use a stirrup hoe that has a cutting edge on each side which cuts just under the top of the soil and doesn’t bring other weed seeds to the surface to germinate.

This entry was posted in Blog roll. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

