Planting depths and secret friend

One of the most important things to keep in mine when planting is planting depth. Another is sun exposure how much sunlight will the plant get in the location chosen. After the rain this morning I decided to get some of the Pee Wee Oakleaf hydrangea planted.  The area around my Heritage Birch weren’t too wet to dig in, so the dogs and I worked in the 105 heat index planting 3 of them.  Actually the dogs laid in the shade snoozing while I sweated. I decided the yard needed mowing badly, so the other 3 and the rest of the hosta are sitting under the birch at the other end of the yard for another day. I plated some Red October, June, Fire & Ice, Blue Mouse Ears and Cheatin Heart hosta between and around  the Pee Wee’s and birch.  Cheatin Heart and Mouse Ears are dwarf  hosta, the CH is a cute little lime green hosta.  To finish up I put tomato cages around the oakleafs to protect them from the hooligans.  I have a real dilemma in that I have 4 more tomato plants and 3 more oakleafs to put out and have to decide which shrubbery gets sacrificed to the hooligans. I have a couple of trees that I hope are established well enough so that they can’t be pulled out of the ground.  When I first decided to re-do the landscaping, they pulled up a newly planted Indian Hawthorne and a Japanese Maple and ate them. Since then newly planted shrubs get protection.

I had one daylily barely coming up and doing poorly in the bed I was working on.  I had been planted by the so called licensed landscaper I had hired when I thought I couldn’t physically handle building raised beds and hauling in all the top soil from dug the paths in the garden. When he used some of my potted plants, he was supposed to keep up with the name and didn’t on half of the plants. I’ve managed to find out the names of most from the name initials on the empty pots and waiting for them to bloom. I decided to dig up the puny one and it had been planted 6 inches below the surface.  A big no no no no. When I checked an iris his crew had planted it was a couple of inches below the surface and starting to get root rot.  So everything came up and the daylily was potted up again at the proper depth so I can baby it. I’m surprised it didn’t rotten over the winter with all the rain we had. It’ll go back in ground when it fells better.  The iris I divided and will get replanted in a day or two barely in the ground.  Iris bloom poorly when planted too deep.

Anything potted should be planted in the ground at the same level as the soil in the pot. I usually put mine about an inch above especially my daylilies and mulch heavily.  Bulbs and seeds usually twice as deep as the size.  It’s best to read the instructions on the package.

Thanks to whoever sent for the Marigolds Across America seeds for me. The envelope was folded w my name in both return and send to addresses. So you could tell it had been sent somewhere for me. Thanks again to my secret buddy.  It had a website on the seed packet www.7valleyplantcycle.com.  Their mission is an interesting read.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

