House finch from egg to fledging

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last year before I started this blog, I sent out my flower pictures to a subscription e-mail list.  Some time during the summer I noticed a house finch flying out of an asparagus fern while watering. When I checked it I noticed a nest containing four light blue eggs and a brown speckled cow bird egg.  I discarded the cow bird egg and as I took daily flower pictures, I would take pictures of the babies from the time they hatched until they fledged.  I was taking a picture when the last one decided to fly off of the nest to a nearby weeping peach tree. We even had a name the babies contest. Eeny Meeny Miney  and Mo won out. I meant to do a final e-mail collection of the series from hatching to fledgling as some requested, but didn’t get around to it.

The hummingbirds are migrating. I’ve been feeding a half gallon of sugar water daily. One feeder was empty and about two dozen were fighting over a feeder a few feet away. One got into the garage and I spent about twenty minutes trying to catch it with fishing net.

The hooligans have been busy chasing mice around the greenhouse.  One hole under the foundation is almost large enough for them to crawl into the greenhouse. I’ll have to fill in all of the holes before cold weather. I’ve been dividing and transplanting daylilies and iris the last several days. The next day before transplanting more, I have to replant some planted the previous day. There’s something about freshly dug dirt that is like catnip to them.

A second wave of figs is ripening. I’ve been noticing several figs bitten in half hanging on the bushes. It didn’t look like bird damage, and I suspected deer until Mom caught Patches nibbling on one.  She did the same when the blueberries came in. If you try to give her some, she doesn’t want it. It’s the forbidden fruit she wants to steal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to House finch from egg to fledging

  1. shoalswriter says:

    Mary — I love seeing nature through your eyes! Gorgeous photos, as always.

  2. trying to follow you on twitter but cant find your name

  3. Gail says:

    I am happy to find your blog and photos of your house finches. I put a pretty new wreath on my front door and wouldn’t you know it, a house fiinch nested inside and I have been watching daily and waiting anxiously for them to fledge. It’s day 15 now, And i’m wanting to kick them out so I can clean up their mess, and hopefully salvage my decorative wreath! I guess I will have to wait a couple more days! My granddaughter has enjoyed watching them though!

  4. Shawna says:

    We had a finch lay eggs in a pine tree that was on our front porch. She dumped the nest And now I’m hand raising the 3 babies. We found them this morning half dead pretty much. We had to warm them up with our breathe and luckily I’ve been rehabbing sparrows too so I have the baby formula already. They’ve made it thru the day which just shocks me because they only hatched on the 18th from when we noticed at least. I’m terrified they’re going to die. Any helpful tips????

Leave a Reply

