Putting the Garden to bed

With the cold weather it’s time to wrap up everything for winter. I still had several potted daylilies and oriental lilies in pots sitting under the large hackberry tree down by the dry creek. Before they could be planted I had to dig, divide and move overcrowded iris and daylilies to larger beds. With the time change not much gets done in the afternoons after work. Just a half hour of work and its dark. With temperatures predicted down in the teens for Sunday, anything not in the ground needed to be planted or mulched. Saturday I started working early. A light rain started shortly after putting on my gardening shoes. I planted oriental lilies in the middle of my “lilies of the valley” section. Several Sabine Baur and Andy Candy daylilies went in “Eyes have it” section of eyed daylilies ringing the edge. Daylily Joan Senior and Lilium Landini were added to my “Ebony & Ivory” section. A gooseberry and several more pink & rose daylilies went in my “Pretty in Pink” or “Lady in Red” section. I’m still debating which one to name that section. Red Eyed Fantasy Daylily went into my Deshler High section on the west side of the driveway. ‘Echinacea Hot Papaya’ ’an orange cone flower went into my Auburn section along the driveway, which I decided needs to extend down to my Toomer’s oak tree. That means moving Spiced custard and Brindled Beauty Iris and several other non blue and orange iris and daylilies elsewhere, probably to my U. of North Alabama section. Let’s think about that idea later much later after you get all of the potted stuff in the ground. By this time the rain was getting a little harder and a little colder with each passing minute. I still had about thirty pots of a daylily called “Indian Giver” that I wanted to put in the Deshler bed along the driveway, but still had half of the bed left to dig out and divide. I made three trips with them down to the area where I have my other potted stuff mulched and made a circular island with them and spread a layer of sawdust on them with the front end loader of my John Deere. Just as I finished leveling and working the sawdust in-between the pots, the bottom fell out of the sky with a very cold rain. See you next spring I said and headed for the barn. I’m not sure who had more mud on them, me or the John Deere. The hooligans were glad to see me stop. Every time I went toward the barn they would run in the door and look at their empty bowls and then up at me. Each time they were told it’s not time to eat yet as I went back to the garden. Patches would walk back to the garden and sit and stare at me with an irritated glare. She wanted her food. Eventually they were fed and after wards got a piece of corn bread Mom had made for them. When I first got Patches six months after putting Casey to sleep, Mom threw a hissy fit. “I told you not to get another dog; I’m not going to have anything to do with it. You take her back.” She took Casey’s death as hard as I did. Casey would go to her house when I was at work and come home when I did, so they had become close. When I got Blackie, she had a smaller hissy fit. Blackie looked similar to a dog she had when we were small, so she decided that was ok, Blackie would be her dog. Then when I brought Levi home it was another huge hissy fit. “I’m not coming over to your house again and for about a year she kept telling me I need to find him another foster home. Oh I had told her I was going to be a foster parent for a while until Karen at Sheltie Rescue of NWAL-WV, Inc  could find him a home. That was three years ago. So now she makes them a big pan of corn bread once a week, with ham or meat drippings which normally would be discarded after cooking. Spoiled hooligans? Well maybe.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Putting the Garden to bed

  1. Phillip says:

    I admire your ability to get out and work this time of year. I just have to force myself to do it. The background of your blog is so beautiful – is that your property? By the way, I think you asked about my greyhound statues – those came from a concrete place on the highway going to Memphis.

  2. I have a couple of heritage birches in my front yard. I took the picture of this one after one of the snows we had first of the year. I’ll be doing a post on birches later as part of my campaign against Bradford pears. Between raynauds & fibromyalgia it’s hard getting out in the cold. I’ve stopped in that concrete place & had picked out a couple of things, but couldn’t figure out how I was going to get them back out of the truck. Now that I have the JD with front end loader, it won’t be a problem.

  3. Phillip says:

    Ok, it is too early for me to be reading – I just saw that you were referring to the statues in a B’ham garden. Those, I have no idea where they came from. I have two greyhound statues by the front gate – I’ll try and find a photo – they are not as pretty as the ones in B’ham.

    Four Heritage birch trees in front and back of our house – really planted too close but they have done fantastically well. Yeah, Bradford pears are a pain. I’m proud to say I’ve never planted one!

  4. I had planted a weeping birch the same time as my other birches in the middle of the yard, a fairly expensive tree and it died the first winter. You expect when you buy something from a local nursery it will live in your climate zone.
    By the way I just loved your garden. Hope they’ll start back the garden tours here soon.

  5. Phillip says:

    You can come by anytime, tour or no tour. Are you going to be selling iris, lilies and peonies? Boy will I be in trouble! I had quite a lot but they don’t seem to do so good for me anymore. I think they are just overcrowded and don’t get enough sun. I do want the “Starship Enterprise”, I’ve heard so many raves about it.

  6. Yes I’ll be opening hopefully in a year or two with iris, daylily & peony and I may get into the orientals, but it takes about 3 yrs to get a presentable bulb. My retirement job. I have over 450 varieties of daylilies and over 250 varieties of iris. If you have a wet area, the Japanese iris would be good. I need to post some of those pictures. I almost lost the Starship iris once due to iris borers by planting in too rich soil. I had too much compost. Another nice one I have is called Jurassic Park. I just divided it up and put it in my UNA section.

Leave a Reply

