Deshler High school XL reunion garden visit 2011

Little did I know when I invited my class over for lemonade and cookies during our reunion, that everything that could go wrong did from getting caught between Patches and Blackie fighting over a mole  and getting my finger bitten through the only hole in my leather work gloves to tractor breakdowns to blowing my knee out. Oh also a tornado scare and the dogs rolled in something dead before my classmates arrived.  Several of the flower beds still needed to be weeded the afternoon of our reunion and the promised daylilies hadn’t even started blooming.  Even though the daylilies weren’t blooming yet, the iris and peonies were in bloom later than normal. The full story may be found in  part two of my GRIT.com post. Mom mowed my grass, cooked, helped clean. My neighbor LaSonya helped with the house and made a big box of cookies. Verborie brought a cheese tray and ice. Gracie my long time friend from work came the day of the class visit and helped set up and helped with the guests and made brownies and cleaned up afterwards.  Even though the gardens weren’t completely ready, I think everyone enjoyed themselves and overlooked the clutter.  While touring the garden, I hoped they at pulled a weed. Some of my classmates I haven’t seen since graduation and I really enjoyed seeing everyone.   Thanks for dropping in and a big thank you to my helpful friends and family. I love you all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deshler High school XL reunion garden visit 2011

  1. Phillip says:

    I think I recognized someone – Carl Brackin? He is one of my co-workers.

    Beautiful, beautiful iris – it would be hard to choose a favorite.

    • Yes, Carl & I graduated together. Phillip, you’ll have to drop in when the daylilies start blooming. You have got to see my Cahaba Lily when it blooms, usually in July. I want to drop by one day after work and see your garden. Mary

  2. Phillip says:

    Okay, just let me know when. I will off work starting next Wednesday. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

