Alabama birding site #7 Wilson Dam

I had gotten in a used Canon lens that I had purchased this past week and wanted to make sure it was in working order.  I attached a 2X extender and pulled into the Rockpile park, birding site number 7 below Wilson Dam on the Colbert side of the Tennessee River.  The temperature was in the twenties and windy, so I parked in a spot that I could see the river and get a clear shot of flying birds and rolled the window down.  The falls near the dam was also frozen.  Just after I took a few pictures, a mature bald eagle flew across the trees and over my truck and up toward the bluff over the park.

Cold or not, I jumped out of my truck and tried to find where it was.  It landed up in a tree above another eagle.  The only problem was that a bright sun was behind them in the best spot to photograph them.  I walked down  the road until I could get rid of the glare of the sun.  Not the best spot, but you don’t see bald eagles every day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

