Wilson Dam and Town Creek birding sites

I haven’t been able to post lately as I’ve been busy with various Christmas events in the area.  If you are on Facebook check out  Remember Tuscumbia for albums on everything I’ve been up to.  If you aren’t I have a sampling of what I’ve been up to on my GRIT magazine blog post.

My hospital was one of the sponsors of the the dam-bridge run going from Florence to Muscle Shoals over Wilson Dam and back to Florence.  I volunteered to take pictures on the dam and knowing that it would be closed arrived about an hour early and walked half way across the empty dam roadway.  I was hoping to see some of the eagles in the area flying, but they never showed, but I did get pictures of a lot of white pelicans and cormorants below the dam.  When the siren for the lock to empty, the swarm of birds formed and hit the swirling water.  Now I know why the warning not to get near the lock

Later I made a trip to Alabama Birding Area # 4 to see the pelicans and other waterfowl.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

