May Flowers

I’m still in the middle of recovering my three acres from privet, hackberry, trumpet vine, blackberry vine and honeysuckle vine. I was fighting the trumpet vine along the driveway for so long I dug up the flowers and potted them so I could really fight the vine. After two years I thought I had finally won and started replanting the bed on the east side as my Auburn bed with orange and blue flowers. Last week I noticed a few more vines coming back out. I’m spot spraying these. This week, I’ve been digging up daylilies out of the west side beds which is my Deshler High School side, so I can spray the trumpet vine in it. Most of it is coming up in the middle of daylily clumps and I can’t fight the trumpet vine without killing the daylilies. Red and white flowers will be going back in the beds. My University of North Alabama bed is on the other side of the house and has purple, white and yellow flowers in it. The last few weeks, I’ve had a large number of Rose-breasted grosbeaks visiting my feeders. In years past during fall and spring migration, I might see one or two at my feeders. I have a homemade platform feeder made from an old wire hanging basket with a clay saucer in it. It is easy to clean and I have a few holes drilled in the bottom of the saucer. It has black oil sunflower seeds in it and the grosbeaks, Indigo buntings, Eastern towhee and Red breasted woodpeckers really like it.

Lucy my rescue Smooth coat Border collie has been wearing herself out chasing vultures. She’s going to catch one soon she thinks. My iris and native azaleas are about finished blooming. Several new ones I purchased last year are still in pots. Daylilies should be blooming soon. Locust are coming out, so we are in for a very loud spring. I don’t know if they are seven year, thirteen year, or another one.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star